Nobel Prize Winners Cardiff University

Nobel Prize

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden.

Nobel Foundation

Nobel Prize in Medicine 2007

Professor Sir Martin Evans, Cardiff School of Biosciences was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine for a series of ground-breaking discoveries concerning embryonic stem cells and DNA recombination in mammals. Sir Martin was described by The Independent newspaper as one of “Ten Britons who have shaped our world”.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1988


Professor Robert Huber was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre. He was one of three winners for being the first to succeed in unraveling the full details of how a membrane-bound protein is built up, revealing the structure of the molecule atom by atom. Professor Huber joined the University in 2007 to spearhead the development of Chemical Biology at Cardiff on a part-time basis – a joint initiative between the Schools of Chemistry and Biosciences

Fellowship of the Royal Society


Individuals who are eminent for their scientific discoveries and attainments become Fellows of the Royal Society. Individuals must have made a substantial contribution to the improvement of natural knowledge, including mathematics, engineering science and medical science. Each year the Royal Society awards 44 Fellowships to the best scientists in recognition of their scientific achievements. It is the highest accolade a scientist can have, next to a Nobel Prize.


Professor Hywel Thomas FRS, Cardiff School of Engineering

Professor Hywel Thomas’ research centres on highly complex movements of heat, liquids and gases through the soil. The models he has built have proved of worldwide importance in understanding thermal and physical conditions underground.


Professor Alun Davies, FRSE, FLSW, FMedSci, FRS Distinguished Research Professor, Cardiff School of Biosciences

Professor Alun Davies is one of the world’s foremost developmental neurobiologists whose elegant innovative research has transformed our understanding of how neurotrophic factors regulate key aspects of neuronal development.


Professor R. John Parkes, FRS, FLSW Head of School of Earth & Ocean Sciences and Distinguished Research Professor.

Professor John Parkes is an international leader in Geomicrobiology, focusing on quantifying sedimentary prokaryotic processes and indentifying the responsible organisms, their interactions and controls.


Graham Hutchings FRS, professor of Physical Chemistry and Director of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute, School of Chemistry

Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society for his pioneering contributions in the use of gold for catalysis, he was the first to predict and subsequently demonstrate that gold would be a highly effective catalyst for ethyne hydrochlorination, thereby establishing a new field of catalysis.


Professor John Aggleton, FRS, Cardiff School of Psychology

Professor John Aggleton is a neuroscientist who has made major contributions to our knowledge of the neural basis of memory.


Professor Ole Holger Petersen CBE FRS, MRC Professor and Director of Cardiff School of Biosciences
Elected a Fellow of The Royal Society for his major contributions to the understanding of the cell physiology of calcium signalling.


Professor Peter Wells CBE FRS, Distinguished Research Professor, Cardiff School of Engineering
Peter Wells is distinguished for his contributions to the application of engineering and physics in medicine. He is the originator and developer of instruments for ultrasonic surgery, monitoring and diagnosis.


Professor Dianne Edwards, FRS, FRE School of Earth and Ocean Sciences
Distinguished for her investigations into the nature of the earliest land plant fossils.


Professor John Pearce, FRS Professor of Psychology, School of Psychology
Distinguished for three original and fundamental contributions to the study of associative learning and conditioning in animals


Posted in News, World class institutions.