UK’s Ivy Leaque Universities – The Russell Group

The Russell Group represents 24 leading UK universities which stand among the very best of tertiary institutions in the world. They are committed to maintaining the very best research, an outstanding teaching and learning experience and unrivalled links with business and the public sector. As of May 2004, Russell Group members awarded 56% of all doctorates awarded in the United Kingdom, and over 30% of all students studying in the United Kingdom from outside the European Union. These universities are also home to Britain’s Nobel Laureates and Fellows of the Royal Society. In the 2001 national Research Assessment Exercise, 78% of the staff in Grade 5* departments and 57% of the staff in Grade 5 departments were located in Russell Group universities. They are the equivalent of the US Ivy League institutions.

Among the Objectives or the Group are:

ü  Teaching of the highest quality takes place in institutions which are at the forefront internationally in their respective subjects, inspiring the brightest undergraduates and training the best postgraduate and postdoctoral workers to create the next generation of innovators and leaders;

ü  The UK’s world-leading research is effectively supported to generate and preserve knowledge and extend the boundaries of human understanding;

ü  Resources are directed to where a critical mass of research can be undertaken to ensure the highest international standards with the greatest impact;

ü  To ensure that the leading UK universities have the optimum conditions in which to flourish and continue to make this impact through their world-leading research and teaching.

The Russell Group of Universities

  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • Cardiff University
  • Durham University
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • Imperial College London
  • King’s College London
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Liverpool
  • London School of Economics & Political Science
  • University of Manchester
  • Newcastle University
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Queen’s University Belfast
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University College London
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York


  1. “The Russell Group Homepage”. Retrieved 2010-06-26.
  2. Four universities join elite Russell Group”. BBC News. 12 March 2012. Retrieved 5 September 2012.
  3. “Queen’s gets key to Russell club door”. Times Higher Education. 9 November 2006. Retrieved 5 September 2012.
  4. “Do you want to be in my gang?”. Times Higher Education. 19 November 2009. Retrieved 01 January 2013.
Posted in Articles, English, Knowledge & Beyond, World class institutions.